TCB Music // 2001
Xcappa Records // 2024

Now available on all streaming platforms.

Matthew Fries – piano
Bill Mobley – trumpet
Vincent Herring – saxophone
Greg Ryan – bass
Vinson Valega – drums

Track List

Track List

A collection of originals and jazz tunes by some of my favorite people.

  1. The Black Cat
  2. The Riddle
  3. Phineas (Donald  Brown)
  4. Cabbage Cafe
  5. Fire and Rain (James Taylor)
  6. Trey of Hearts (Thad Jones)
  7. Retro (Song for Today)
  8. Prelude/Karen at the Dance
  9. Arioso (James Williams)
  10. Lucky to Be Me (Leonard Bernstein)


European jazz indies are valuable not only because of their willingness to document European artists who are being ignored by American labels — they also know how to find talented American improvisers. Although Song for Today is a Swiss release, Matthew Fries is very much an American. The acoustic pianist is also one of the many Young Lions who became active on the New York jazz scene in the 1990s: Young Lions, as jazz critics call them, are Generation X musicians who have chosen straight-ahead bop and/or post-bop over fusion, jazz-pop, or jazz-funk. Young Lions aren’t trying to be innovative, and no one would use that word to describeSong for Today — a likable, if derivative, effort that was recorded in 1998 but often sounds like it could have been recorded in the 1960s. Fries’ specialty is 1960s-minded post-bop, and his clean style of pianism owes a lot to Ahmad Jamal, Bill Evans, and Herbie Hancock — not Hancock’s fusion output of the 1970s, but the acoustic post-bop he provided for Blue Note in the 1960s. To his credit, Fries wrote about half of the tunes on Song for Today, and he also deserves credit for interpreting songs that haven’t been done to death in the jazz world. Instead of subjecting listeners to yet another predictable version of “Our Love Is Here to Stay,” Fries applies his interpretive skills to material that ranges from Leonard Bernstein’s “Lucky to Be Me” to Thad Jones’ “Trey of Hearts” to James Taylor’s “Fire and Rain.” That 1970s soft rock favorite might seem an unlikely choice for a straight-ahead jazz session, but Fries demonstrates that “Fire and Rain” can, in fact, be transformed into acoustic post-bop.

Text Widget
Aliquam erat volutpat. Class aptent taciti sociosqu ad litora torquent per conubia nostra, per inceptos himenaeos. Integer sit amet lacinia turpis. Nunc euismod lacus sit amet purus euismod placerat? Integer gravida imperdiet tincidunt. Vivamus convallis dolor ultricies tellus consequat, in tempor tortor facilisis! Etiam et enim magna.
Secured By miniOrange